Drakopoulos, Pan: The Way to Unity

1946, June: The European Parliamentary Union

Count Coudenhove-Kalergi returns to Europe from U.S.A. and organizes the European Parliamentary Union.

1946, September 19: Churchill’s Address in Zurich

Sir Winston Churchill addresses at a convocation at the University of Zurich. He declares: “We must build a kind of United States of Europe!” The speech had an enormous impact indeed, and is still counted as a cornerstone of the European unity, although Churchill clearly exempted Britain from the plan.

1946, December 15: The Federalists’ Union

The European Union of Federalists is founded. Its first Congress will take place in Amsterdam, in April of 1947.

1946-47: The Spring of Unionism

A bunch of associations for the European unity germinated in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, and Germany. In England, Winston Churchill founds the United Europe Committee under his chairmanship by-passing the Laborites and Liberals of the Federal Union. The first Congress of the new organization will take place on May 14 of the same year at the Albert Hall, London.

1947, January 17: J.F.Dulles Supports the European Unity

John Foster Dulles makes a speech on the American foreign policy in New York. Inspired by his close friend Jean Monnet, Dulles strongly supports the unity of the Western Europe:”Europe must federate or perish!” As Walter Lipgens points out: “the effect of his speech in the US was similar to that of Churchill’s Zurich speech in Europe!”

1947, March: “A Parliament for Europe”

Count Coudenhove-Kalergi makes a speech in the New York Herald Tribune Forum pointing out that the Unity of Europe is not a political utopia but a practical policy, otherwise the whole Continent will be swallowed by the Soviets. The speech had a strong impact: on April 22, Coudenhove announces the formation of the American Committee for a Free and United Europe under the chairmanship of Senator William Fulbright.

1947, 14 December: Unite the Unionists

Churchill brings the pro-integration movements together and forms the Joint International Committee of the Movements for European Unity under the chairmanship of Duncan Sandys.

1948, March 17: The Treaty of Brussels

France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, and Britain sign a pact for collaboration in economic, social, and cultural affairs. The British government makes it clear that this is a pact for collaboration, not for union. The Dutch Parliament, however, urges on federal association of the state members.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

You may also like...